Archive for the ‘Czech Arbitration Court’ Category

SUBLIME DIRECTORY Wins Domain Dispute Through the Czech Arbitration Court

Friday, November 6th, 2009


In a rarely reported section of the domain dispute world, one of DefendMyDomain’s friends had a successful result with the Czech Arbitration Court. Marc Randazza braved the realm of the CAC in a domain dispute, (available here) against Gu Bei, who is slowly becoming an infamous cybersquatter. The disputed domain was www.sublimedirectories.com. We recently reported on another case where Disney won against this same Respondent. (available here). In the instant dispute, Mr. Randazza represented Redfan of Panama, Inc., who runs an aggregation web site containing links and information about adult entertainment. Complainant owns the mark SUBLIME DIRECTORY, with rights dating back to 1996, and maintains a web site at www.sublimedirectory.com. Respondent registered the domain on August 18, 2009 and failed to respond to the Complaint.

The normal UDRP rules apply in the CAC, wherein Complainant is required to prove the presence of each of the following three elements to obtain the relief it has requested: (i) the Disputed Domain Name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which Complainant has rights; (ii) Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the Disputed Domain Name; and (iii) the Disputed Domain Name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.

The Panel, addressed the first element and found that Complainant had established rights to the mark SUBLIME DIRECTORY. The Panel found that the disputed domain was merely a plural form of the mark, thus it was confusingly similar. Moving to the second element, the Panel confirmed that the disputed domain contains content related to adult entertainment, which is similar to Complainant’s. The Panel found that Complainant had presented a prima facie case and Respondent’s failure to respond was sufficient to make a finding of lacking rights or legitimate interests. Lastly, the Panel reviewed whether the disputed domain was registered and used in bad faith. The Panel found that once the first two elements were proven and that the disputed domain was used in connection with a web site offering similar goods or services, that bad faith can be found. AS a result, the Panel found that Complainant satisfied all elements of the Policy and ordered the domain be TRANSFERRED.

A tip of the hat goes out to Randazza for braving the CAC.

Switch to our mobile site